AnsweredAssumed Answered

Proper way to try to re add a drive to MapR

Question asked by mandoskippy on Feb 7, 2013
Latest reply on Feb 8, 2013 by mandoskippy
We had a situation where some bus issues forced some drives offline.  Being a simpleton, I just removed them from the MapR Gui, and re added them.  To which I noticed that they were reset to 0 and all data on those drives were lost.  Is there a better way to do this?  What I noticed was when other drives had failed, we took the node down, fixed the cabling issues, rebooted the node, and those drives that were failed (not the ones I removed and readded) came back just fine, but the ones I removed and readded all still were 0%.  I know every system shouldn't account for epic amounts of fail like I just did, but is there a way to just remove and readd without clearing the drive? Can this be the default behavior in the Gui?  If not can can it prompt us and warn about potential data loss. (Luckily, we dind't lose data, but we were in a non-ideal replication situation for a while, and my colleague has heartburn... :)

Outcomes