Go Big with Containers for Your Next Big Data Deployment - March 21, 2017 - WEBINAR - Remote Attendees Welcomed!

Document created by aalvarez on Mar 13, 2017Last modified by aalvarez on Mar 21, 2017
Version 4Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

SUMMARY

Date:March 21, 2017, 8am PT / 11am ET / 4pm BST | Add to Calendar
Topic:Go Big with Containers for Your Next Big Data Deployment
Time:8am PT / 11am ET / 4pm BST | Add to Calendar
Location:

Go Big with Containers for Your Next Big Data Deployment  

ABOUT THE EVENT

Containers are one of the hottest technologies in the industry right now. As the next generation of data center virtualization, containers give you the flexibility to take advantage of underutilized resources in an agile and efficient way, particularly important in today’s big data environments. You can deploy and redeploy containers on multiple servers for scale, better resource utilization, and fault tolerance. While promising, the use of containers has been largely limited to ephemeral applications due to the overhead of providing persistent storage within containers. As organizations seek to deploy stateful applications in containers, advanced data platforms will have to be included as part of the infrastructure to enable greater value out of containers.

Join us in this webinar as our featured speaker Rich Fichera of Forrester Research shares his view on the use of containers in today’s big data deployments and why this technology is something you need to explore. Jack Norris, Senior Vice President of Data and Applications at MapR Technologies, will follow up with a discussion on how the issue of persistent storage in containers can be handled seamlessly and simultaneously converged with analytical engines like Hadoop and Spark.

 

SPEAKER

Richard Fichera, Vice President, Principal Analyst of Forrester Research 

Jack Norris, SVP, Data and Applications of MapR

 

 

Related:

containers

Getting Started with MapR Client Container

Keeping Big Data Containers Lightweight: Persisting Streams, Tables and Files

Attachments

    Outcomes